The Dirt w/ Tamra Chace

Simple, up close, and some quirky questions with Chace Dance Company’s artistic director Tamra Chace.

Tamra Chace

What did you want to be when you were a teen?

C: Firstly was a ballet dancer… and I’ve always wanted to start a contemporary company since I can remember! If I had to choose something outside of dance, would be something in marine biology or archeology.

If you could dance with one performer, past or present, who would it be? 

C: Ohad Naharin. I would love to do some pure gaga straight from the source.

Most played song on your iPod:

C: This changes all the time, but loving Carey Underwood’s “Something in the Water.”

Favorite Movie: Old & New: 

C: I am a complete movie junkie and love most everything from the 40’s to now.

Biggest guilty pleasure: 

C: Reading girly magazines, and lots of chocolate!

Favorite Food: 

C: MEXICAN!

Things you can’t live without: 

C: My family and two cats.

What are your pet peeves? 

C: People chewing with their mouths open. Or others arriving late for scheduled appointments.

Who is your dance crush?

C: Kyle Robinson! wow..

What’s the strangest thing in your dance bag? 

C: Hand sanitizer and hand cream. Dry hands..

What is your dream as a dancer? 

C: To build the biggest platform for professional dancers in South Africa, To offer a place where professionals can be challenged as artists.  There is no where else to go as a professional here besides teaching and corporates… I want to create something different for those up and coming dancers.

What’s your most embarrassing on-stage moment? 

C: I was dancing and knocked over a massive mushroom during a ballet scene. Oops.

What has been your most proud moment so far?

C: I think my whole journey of moving to South Africa and staying here, I’m pretty proud to say I’ve done that. Not too many people can pick up and move to a country they have never been to and make it work. Pretty blessed with life, I can say that much.

Leave a comment